randommystic

welcome to the disparate musings of a Christian-existential-zen-wanderer on the fringes of everything in pursuit of God

Pickle knows how to grow carrots February 25, 2013

Filed under: Christian mysticism,faith — randommystic @ 10:18 PM

carrotsSo – turns out – growing carrots is harder than you’d think – given  you can buy five pounds of them for less than $3 at my grocery store.

 

Actually – let me put it more accurately. For the last three years I’ve tried to grow carrots. Pretty much every year follows the same pattern …

Step 1    research what kind of conditions they like, compare ideal conditions to present conditions and tweak

Step 2    buy a fresh packet of seed – slightly higher quality than the last brand

Step 3    plant carrots like mad

 

In three years I have harvested a beautiful and mind-blowing 6 miniature carrots. Not one was longer than my pinky. Don’t get me wrong – they were delicious, but …

 

Then I happened to meet a carrot-growing fiend right here in my own neighborhood – a retired nieghbor who goes by the name of “Pickle”. Just one conversation with this yoda-like garden-guru and a whole new world opens up about carrots. And what do you know – per Pickle I’ve been doing a few things wrong – starting with sewing seed … Pickle sews way more seed than I do.

 

What do you know – I usually sew 1 seed per carrot I want … Pickle blows that ratio out of the water. Go Pickle.

 

But it’s also a pretty solid Biblical principle … about sewing and reaping “Now this I say, he who sows sparingly will also reap sparingly, and he who sows bountifully will also reap bountifully.”  2 Corinthians 9:6.

 

Pickle’s principle of growing carrots got me thinking about how I sew into my relationship with God, and my relationship with others, and pretty much everything else. But in particular when it comes to God – I think I’m going to sew even more abundantly than Pickle.

 

Leave a Reply

