randommystic

welcome to the disparate musings of a Christian-existential-zen-wanderer on the fringes of everything in pursuit of God

St Therese of Lisieux September 3, 2012

Filed under: Christian mysticism — randommystic @ 7:04 PM
Tags:

The Little Way:

” … But I will search out a means of attaining heaven by a little way – very short and direct and completely new. We liver after all, in an age of inventions. There are lifts that save us the trouble of climbing stairs. So I will try and find a lift that will raise me to God, for I am too small to climb the steep stairs of perfection. I looked in Scripture to find some suggestion of what the lift I wanted might be. I came across these words from the Book of Proverbs: “Whoever is a little one, let that person come to me.” (Proverbs 9:4) So I drew near to God, certain that I had discovered what I was looking for. I continued my search and this is what I found: “You shall be carried at the breast and upon the knees: as one whom the mother caresses, so will I comfort you.” (Isaiah 66:12-13)

 

I have never before been consoled with more tender or sweet words. Jesus, it is your arms then that must be the lift that will raise me to heaven. To reach heaven I do not have to become great. On the contrary I must stay little. I must become even smaller than I am.”

Published ~  1898

 

Leave a Reply

