randommystic

welcome to the disparate musings of a Christian-existential-zen-wanderer on the fringes of everything in pursuit of God

Frank Laubach was a mystic of course! August 27, 2012

Filed under: Christian mysticism — randommystic @ 4:57 PM
Tags:

Frank Laubach was quite the man. A long time ago I ran across a quote of his published in a magazine and his words exploded in my soul a passion for boundless community with God available in ways that went beyond anything previously imagined. His words still inspire … and they leave me wondering if faith communities could possibly need of any outreach program – if Christ lovers had more dialog like what’s below. It seems if they did – faith communities would rather need remodeling projects to widen the doors.

 

From his journal on January 20th, 1930.

 

“Two years ago a profound dissatisfaction led me to begin trying to line up my actions with the will of God about every fifteen minutes or every half hour. … But this year I have started out to live all my waking moments in conscious listening to the inner voice, asking without ceasing: “What, Father, do you desire said? What, Father, do you desire this minute?”

 

It is clear that this is exactly what Jesus was doing all day every day.

May 24, 1930. “… This concentration upon God is strenuous, but everything else has ceased to be so. I think more clearly, I forget less frequently. Things which I did with a strain before, I now do easily and with no effort whatever. I worry about nothing, and lose no sleep. I walk on air a good part of the time. Even the mirror reveals a new light in my eyes and face. I no longer feel in a hurry about anything. Everything goes right. Each minute I meet calmly as though it were not important. Nothing can go wrong except one thing – that is that God may slip from my mind if I do not keep guard. But if He is there – the universe is with me and my task is simple and clear.”

 

Leave a Reply

